DEATH OF A NATION – Don’t Speak For Me

Death of a Nation is a reaction to the world we live in. It is musical journalism. It’s a collection of individuals for whom punk music and ethics has served as the guiding light for their actions and moral compass. It is the cumulative sum of their anger as well as their compassion. As musicians, sound is their canvas, songs their voice. Angst meeting melancholy, rage meeting reflection. Founded by members of Defeater and Verse, Death of a Nation will speak in the way they know how, condemning senseless hate, and promoting compassionate acceptance.  Continue reading

Godsticks – Faced with Rage

Fresh from their European tour with The Pineapple Thief at the start of 2017, Godsticks entered the studio to finish work on their new studio album –  Faced With Rage. The Cardiff based 4 piece, having already been hailed by the UK’s Metal Hammer magazine as “one of the UK’s most idiosyncratic rock bands”, with their new album have delivered on their promise to be just as heavy as their self-released 2015 album Emergence but this time with a darker feel and more industrial sound.  Continue reading

Steve Hill – Dangerous

Steve Hill, the one-man band blues rock machine, will release his new album “Solo Recordings: Volume 3” on No Label Records in the UK on Friday 6th October 2017.  To support the release, Steve will support Wishbone Ash on their 27-date October UK tour.  Continue reading

Lewis and the Strange Magics – You’ll Be Free Forever

Spanish Heavy-Psych-Rockers LEWIS & THE STRANGE MAGICS are back with their second full-length! “Evade Your Soul” will be released on 20th October 2017 via Soulseller Records on CD, vinyl and in digital formats. With this new album the band offers a heavier and more psychedelic sound, highlighting melodic songs with fuzzy riffs, crazy keys, spiritual lyrics and a lot of groove. A video for the song “You’ll Be Free Forever” is available at this location. Continue reading

Puppet Kings – Otherside

Hard-hitting, groove-filled three-piece Puppet Kings matriculate from the vibrant cornucopia of Brighton’s ever-expanding music scene. The rock ‘n’ roll newcomers hurl out gigantic rock, soaked with adrenaline fuelled riffery and huge choruses. The band unveil their new EP, Very Cool & Groovy, through all platforms on Friday 1st September. However, before then, the rock crew have just dropped the video for Other Side. Continue reading

Venom Inc. – “Avé”

Venom Inc. – “Avé” (Nuclear Blast) Wot a steamroller! Formed from the legendary Venom by guitarist Jeff ‘Mantas’ Dunn and Atomkraft bassist Tony ‘Demolition Man’ and of late, joined by Venom’s drummer Tony ‘Abaddon’ Bray, the trio have a made a miraculous leap that began with a chance reunion at the Keep It True Festival. Since then its been a veritable tidal wave of shows across the globe playing to rabid fans hungry to hear Venom’s songs, especially with Crono’s Venom very much on the quiet side. With legendary Jonny Z (the band’s first US promoter back in the day) … Continue reading

Blackmore’s Night – “To The Moon And Back”

Blackmore’s Night – “To The Moon And Back” 2CD (Minstrel Hall Music) Conceptualized while Rainbow recorded their last CD on a snowy winter’s night, Ritchie Blackmore’s renaissance folk rock project took the world by storm (as with all things he did!) and besides being a radical departure from the legendary hard rock that made him a guitar god, was equally a bold rejection of the commerciality inherent in the music industry. Lamented by the rock masses, Blackmore gradually faded into a self fulfilling hermit like existence, refusing bountiful offers to participate in reunions or release new rock material. Together with … Continue reading

Dawn of Disease – “Ascension Gate”

Dawn of Disease – “Ascension Gate” (Napalm Records) Despite their grim name, Germany’s Dawn of Disease play a highly catchy brand of melodic death metal very much rooted in the early days of In Flames along with a touch of Paradise Lost! Formed in 2003 and growing to become a mainstay on the German festival circuit, the band have released 3 prior albums and “Ascension Gate” follows in like manner, albeit with richer melodies and equally more melancholic passion this time on the 10 tracks herein. While all the aforementioned styles have been performed before (and to greater success) the … Continue reading