Dark New Day – “New Tradition”

Dark New Day – “New Tradition” (Goomba Music)

DND is a hard rock supergroup made up of guitarist Clint Lowery (Sevendust), bassist Corey Lowery (Eye Empire), drummer Will Hunt (Evanescence), Troy McLawhorn (Evanescence) and vocalist Brett Hestla (Virgos Merlot). It’s been almost 7 years since we last heard from these guys with their debut ‘Twelve Year Silence’, yet unbelievably all the songs making up “New Tradition” were written only a year after that album! Whatever the case, the good news is that songs like ‘Take It From Me’, ‘I Don’t Need You’ and ‘Fiend’ don’t sound dated despite the agit cover and song titles, which related to some label beefs at the time. With a similar, if groovier sound to that of Alter Bridge with big Americana power rock riffs and soulful vocals, DND may have picked an opportune moment to release these tracks to a brand new market!

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.