Flat Earth – “None For One”

Flat Earth – “None For One” (Drakkar Entertainment) 
Battle Helm Rating
If you’re a fan of HIM’s rock metal and admire the prog tones of Amorphis, then you’re gonna love this new Finnish supergroup! Formed by ex-Amorphis bassist Niclas Etelävuori with former HIM members Mikko ‘Linde’ Lindström (guitar) and Mika “Gas Lipstick” Karppinen (drums) while recruiting Polanski singer Anttoni Pikkarainen along the way, Flat Earth certainly incorporates some popular aspects of both bands, but equally has its own strong measure of grungy melancholia throughout the 11 tracks making up this debut. Together with a big sound from producer Hiili Hiilesmaa (HIM, Amorphis, Apocalyptica, Sentenced), they have created the next Finnish rock metal sensation!!! Spiralling in with a catchy prog melody on ‘Blame’, Pikkarainen shows his immediate worth through his tender tones that provide the perfect contrast to Linde’s dark n heavy guitar, blending together for the ultra memorable singalong chorus on this excellent fire n ice number completed by Linde’s swanky rock n roll guitar solo. Unleashing Karppinen’s double bass drumming fury on ‘Noble Swine’, Pikkarainen adds more power vocally on this full on rock number oozing energy throughout, complete with heaps of crashing cymbals although the magnetic melodies still manage to rise over all the power – wow! For heaviness then closer ‘Kill My God’ with its heavy, fuzzed bass from Etelävuori laced by Linde’s melancholic guitar overtones and completed by Pikkarainen’s trippy lower vocals contrasted by his own higher rock star vocals add the alt icing to this grungy number that would sit quite comfortably in Seattle. Following the cessation of HIM, it’s really great to hear that some of the guys are now back, and putting out such a fine release befitting their legacy! 
Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.