Ribspreader – “The Van Murders – Part 2”

Ribspreader – “The Van Murders – Part 2” (Xtreem Music) 

Battle Helm Rating

Ha ha, how many bands has Rogga Johansson played in – now that’s a question that could occupy the UN (or anyone for that matter) for a very, very long time indeed….needless to say, it’s too many to mention!!!! Paganizer, Megascavenger, Putrevor, The Grotesquery, Bone Gnawer, Revolting and Necrogod would certainly spring to mind and here on Ribspreader, he does his thing once more – namely, elite level death metal in every sense of the word. Joining him on this savage foray are lead guitarist Kjetil Lynghaug (Paganizer, Echelon) and drummer Brynjar Helgetun (Putrevor, The Grotesquery, Just Before Dawn) with Johansson handling guitar, bass and vocals. Together they make one helluva noise that larger bands would envy! “The Van Murders – Part 2” is Ribspreader’s 7th release and covers the spectrum from classic Swe-deth to death n grind and a more conventional death metal showing that despite his veteran status, Johansson has plenty of strings to his bow. Crushing with opener ‘Destination LA’, the massive groove rollacoaster begins through grim chundering riffs and subtle melodies as Helgetun’s drums go into Formula One overdrive while Lynghaug lays on the wailing solos backed by Johansson adding more fuzz and growls. Heading into thrashier territory on ‘Back On Frostbitten Shores’ it isn’t long before the grind hits and simmers amid squeaking guitars as Johansson spews out his sickly tones while Helgetun delivers some serious kick drum. Best for me was closer ‘Travelling Band Of The Dead’ with its death grunts about ‘…no one left to fucking murder..’, huge catchy dirty grooves and Helgetun’s double bass drumming overload. Monstrous, massive and memorable to the max!!!!

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.